top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

The Cyclist and The Car

Updated: Aug 15, 2023

Brief

In this second Assignment, you will continue to build on the programming concepts you have learned during the first assignment. Working with the same statistic as Assignment 1 you will once again undertake a process of creative interpretation and abstraction to reveal a novel insight about this statistic. In Assignment 2 you will experiment with colour, form, typography and various other visual communication strategies to synthesize a dynamic output.


Project Setup

My process for this project was less structured than the last but included a lot more critical thinking based on feedback. If you want to view my previous GIF, you can click here.


General Research

The outcome of this assignment was to work with our previous statistic and find a novel insight. It was encouraged to explore a different area so that the output would differ from Assignment 1. I took the first week to do some exploring.

This was my original statistic:


The transport sector currently produces 47% of CO2 emissions.


I took the time to brainstorm and research different facets of this topic. I looked into sustainable and unsustainable energy, emissions, vehicles, and carbon footprints. Through talking to peers and lecturers, I decided on exploring sustainable transport, the cars vs. cyclists debate specifically. This was current within Auckland.


Specific Research - Cars vs. Cyclists

Cyclists vs. Cars, why does it exist? NZ is not built to accommodate bikes. Cars and bikes share the same road leading to some tension between parties. I wanted to explore the multiple facets of the issue to find something to express in my work.

I was given a hint to look into urban planning as a critical factor of the issue. Both of my TA's were individually passionate about this situation which really helped me along my process in terms of representation. I looked at the Liberate the Lane protest, Auckland's City Masterplan, news opinion pieces, among other things. It seemed to point toward not one specific group at fault but the environment itself.


While I researched, I also did some light iteration, which will be pictured later on. Through this, I came across the idea of portraying my two groups through the lens of 'The Hare and the Tortoise' fable.



Why go with The Hare and The Tortoise fable?

With my GIF, I want to focus on the contributing factors to the 'cars vs. cyclists' situation.

This situation creates a lot of tension between the two groups of people.


From my research, I've concluded that separating the two forms of transport would lead to increased cyclist safety, decreased road rage, and a more positive attitude toward cyclists. The government knows this as well and is implementing actions toward it. This may be a stretch, but I want to use the tortoise and the hare fable to show that they can both win if we separate them.


Sketch, get feedback. Rinse and repeat.

This assignment really made me grateful for the power of feedback. I wasn't entirely sure about my direction, and every opinion helped. As there is so much iteration, I want to describe the critical thinking points that helped move my process along.


I wanted to work on Krishna's suggestion on depicting the 'cars vs. cyclists' feud in a current light.


I had a few ideas, some with simple movement code, and others were more complex. I realised after this process that it would be better to depict the 'why' rather than a solution. Peers and my TA liked my 'finish line' idea for this reason.


I wasn't entirely happy with just depicting the cars as a hare with no changes. I worked with implementing a bunny car much like the cat bus from Totoro. I also envisioned how my animals would move. I wanted to limit the animation, but I was still confident I could implement simple movement with a couple frames. I wanted to challenge myself, and I just wasn't comfortable with simple moving sprites.


Concept Feedback from TA Jacky

In terms of my concept, he said the key was my communication of ideas. He endorsed the route I was going with the fable. He likened my concept to the old pixel racing car games - I googled them, and we considered sending my GIF down this route.

The Pixel Racing Theme, what would this entail?

  • A GIF with the camera locked to a cyclist on the road to focus on the cyclist's perspective.

  • Translation from cycling on the road to alternate conditions (cycle path, side street, etc.)

  • Loops back onto the road

  • Demonstrate different road conditions

  • Demonstrate driver attitude (honking, swearing)

  • Has the potential to look very chaotic.

I personally loved this idea. It seemed dynamic, which was where I wanted to go with my GIF. It also interested me and would be fun to implement.


Coding

I feel my biggest hurdle during coding was my coding structure. It's messy and hard to read. If I was to do this project again, I would implement a better plan.

Concept Plan

I developed a rough plan made of 7 segments. Each segment relates to a key sequence.


My cyclist would signal in, causing rage from the hares. He would ride in the middle for a bit before turning into the cycle lane. In the cycle lane, he and the hares could move quicker and have a better attitude. They both stop at a crossing and possibly share a friendly gesture. The hares turn off, and then the cyclist moves back to the other side of the road to avoid an obstacle. These obstacles could potentially be sleeping hares, aka parked cars.


Asset Iteration

There are a couple different versions of my GIF's assets that I changed based on feedback.

I added gas to the hare cars, a honking sound, a swear bubble, and different movement speeds. Overall I'm happy with the direction my iteration took my GIF in.


The Final

Apologies for the quality. due to my GIF being 1500+ frames long and including audio elements this is the best way I can present it in a blog. The best way to view my GIF is through the .exe file.


Statement of Intent:

I wanted to depict the Cars vs. Cyclists situation that is prevalent in Auckland today. Motorists and cyclists have to share the same road, leading to tension between the two parties. Our government currently has plans to make the city centre more accessible to alternative transport. However, in the present day, Auckland's urban planning makes travelling by bike a struggle.


I chose to represent this narrative using The Hare and The Tortoise fable. The hare is a car, as cars are fast and dominate the road; the tortoise is a cyclist as he is depicted as the underdog of the fable. I wanted to show that both animals can win if given the right environment.


While on the road, the cyclist tortoise endures a harsh attitude. The hare cars can't get to where they want to go as he is in their way. In reality, he could move to the side, but I exaggerated the situation to push my concept. Once a cycle lane appears, the attitude subsides, and both parties can drive a lot faster. However, once the path ends, the tortoise is forced to move back onto the road.


Code


Miro

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page