top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

Digital Experiments: Design Sprint

Updated: Jul 24, 2023

For my design methods and processes class, the lecturers gave us three digital experiments to start our design year. To help guide our experiments’ execution, we were also given a Miro template for planning and step management. Throughout development, we worked through each step - and feedback from peers formed strong project support. The first sprint was for an AT Hop reskin, introducing us to UX/UI development. The second was for a 3D modelling and poster design task, and the third was for a VR experience created in Mozilla Hubs. All of these areas and tools were new to the majority of participants.


UX/UI Experiment

I focused on understanding and iteration for this sprint. I spent a lot of time processing my thoughts and ensuring that I understood my project. Working with what I knew and what other people knew was my primary strategy for this sprint. From having younger siblings, I would guess with some accuracy what their responses might be. I relied on my precedents for inspiration/information and my peers for confirmation/criticism.


3D Modelling Sprint

There was a lot of emphasis on ideation during this sprint as it was an easy step to control and prioritise. Gathered a lot of examples during the research phase and referenced them often while working. I wasn’t confident in my poster design or 3D modelling skills, so I started those steps as early as possible to give me room to fail. My strategy was to spend a lot of time on my tablet getting out quick ideas so I wouldn’t attach to one too quickly.


VR Environment Sprint

My priority during this sprint was to convey a personal narrative with my limited skills. I wasn’t great at modelling or working in Mozilla Hubs - so I stuck to creating explicit immersion assumptions and sticking to them. I dedicated time to finding the correct narrative so that I knew I was building the right concept. A strong foundation supported me, meaning I didn’t need tool proficiency to create a compelling outcome.


These sprints were an incredible help in guiding and mapping out my process. You can find process work for the individual tasks in related blog posts.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page