top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

Digital Experiments : VR Experiment

Updated: Jul 24, 2023

Our lecturers tasked us with reimagining our favourite childhood space in VR. The VR experiment was one of three tasks. We were free to interpret the brief however we wanted within reason and set off to create the best fit. The end-result concept was entirely up to us. Mozilla Hubs and Rhino were the tools recommended for mocking up our concept - and our submission would be a VR room in Mozilla hubs.


Pictured is my design sprint. It displays my entire process.

Object Planning

I decided to pick a bedroom scene as the models required were not hard to make. I chose a narrative involving my sister as her model would be easier to recognize than one of a dad. I decided to mix the narrative between it raining and being late at night so that I could portray the narrative through sound and lighting as well as the room composition. I want to evoke the emotion felt as a child at night time - which is usually an uncomfortable feeling. These sketches were to help me visualise how to create the objects present in my room.


3D Models

These are all the 3D models I made for my room. As I already had practice from a previous experiment, these were not tricky.


Images used during development

Random 'kids drawings' I created in under a minute for each. One of my feedback excerpts was that the walls were bare and should have something on it. I created these but decided not to use the cat one in the end as it seemed to stand out a lot.


Final Room

Statement of Intent

Using classic immersion techniques such as lighting, spatial audio, and narrative, I have created a VR experience depicting one of my fond memories. Pictured is my sister Saartje in our shared childhood room at night. There is the sound of a thunderstorm outside, and low light comes through the curtain. My sister and I were often awake during the night when we were younger due to not wanting to sleep. I was afraid of the dark and often plagued by nightmares, so I wanted to portray the uneasy feeling nighttime gave me.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page