top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

A Reflection on my Design Future

Updated: Jul 24, 2023

As a designer, I think I still have a long way to go before I am where I want to be.

My design work at the moment mainly consists of personal and previous school work. However, I am attempting to learn new design disciplines in order to broaden my horizons. My first step in growing as a designer was choosing my University degree, I chose a conjoint of Computer Science/Design because I was interested in designing in the realm of tech.


One area of design that interests me is UX (User Experience) design. I have created things in the past that can be attributed to UX design: such as designing website/app interfaces, product interviews, and coding websites - all done for schoolwork. A UX designer considers the functionality and aesthetics of a design and I’m interested in the wide variety of projects that these sorts of skills can be applied to. I think that my interest in tech, design, and social skills can contribute toward great UX design projects. I acknowledge that this is speculation, so as it is early in my design education I’m super keen to try out many things so I can either be certain or uncertain about my proficiency in different design areas.

Another area I am potentially interested in is UI (User Interface) design. Being a UI designer means I will be more concerned with the feel of a design rather than the entire experience. Although at the moment I am interested in covering the functionality of a design, I may find as I progress through my Design degree I could find a love for portraying a product’s aesthetic and values. How I’ll grow as a designer will only be shown when I take on harder design challenges than the ones I have already faced - as at the moment I’m not sure where I am headed.


I don’t have any ideal jobs in the future. Keeping my options broad and exploring new areas is the reason why I’m taking a conjoint. My current skills include hobby artistry, programming and low-level design - all areas that I’m keen to develop.


References

What is User Experience (UX) Design? (n.d.). Retrieved April 7, 2020, from https://www.interaction-design.org/literature/topics/ux-design

What is User Interface (UI) Design? (n.d.). Retrieved April 7, 2020, from https://www.interaction-design.org/literature/topics/ui-design



39 views0 comments
bottom of page