top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

Refining my Idea and the Presentation [Week 9]

Updated: Jul 24, 2023

This week I wanted to work off some of the feedback I got on my last ideas to create a good, final idea.

Last week, my lecturer Krishna's feedback was that a device that works with a smart speaker may be useful. He suggested having a screen with colour indication that represents the different genres of music. The user would use the colours to tell a streaming service what types of music they want to listen to. He detailed that the mapping and the interface are essential. I need to make sure my project is conceptually strong over a working prototype.


Mood Boards

I wanted to create some mood boards to explore this idea. I considered three options, and in each board, I included a representation of what I envisioned the colours to look like.


Option 1

The concept could be on a separate device with a screen. This could include being an app or creating an entirely new tool.

Option 2

The device could be a flexible touchscreen device that is applied to the user’s smart speaker.

Option 3

The device is a small screen that works with the user’s smart speaker. This device sits on top of the speaker.

I decided to run my idea past some people in our conversations for feedback.

Feedback

The feedback I got for this idea was that it shouldn’t be paired with a smart speaker. The ease of use that comes with a smart speaker is through voice control. Having to tap on something goes against that. If this were to be a device, it should be a phone app or a device separate from a smart speaker.

There are some issues with the colour to control idea - it may be hard for people to get the desired music outcome. This concept would need to be refined for user-friendliness, as at first glance, the user will not know what each colour means.

Also, I got one piece of feedback that genres were becoming outdated. With things like Spotify music discovering, people can get suggestions based on how they listen, not what they listen to. I may need to consider how people will want to find songs in the future.


Improved Idea

My improved idea is a phone or smartwatch app. This app allows users to discover songs based on artist, producer, speed, genre, and vibe. The user can use the details of songs they are listening to explore. It’s possible to select one parameter or multiple. It will be a voice-activated app designed to be built into a phone device like Siri or Google Assistant.


I created another mood board to represent this new idea.


Prototype Planning

I’m considering creating a video that displays my app in different contexts. For example, showing someone running and asking their smartwatch to show them songs at a similar speed. It will be comparable to a demonstration advertisement. This would require me to acquire a professional camera and some volunteers. I would also need to draft up some interfaces and do some video editing.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page