top of page
  • Writer's pictureRikka Ly

Wriggling Spider [Week 5]

Updated: Jul 24, 2023



For this final AR practice, I worked on my previous spider project to make it move. The model that I used came with some animations, so I didn't need to find another model. Lecturer Prasanth showed us how to create an animation cycle in the 'Animation' panel. I also used a video made by him to guide my actions in Unity.



I chose to animate the spider to give it a higher element of interactivity than the previous version. It helped that the video coincidentally used the same spider model I used. At first, I coded a movement revolution, but it seemingly didn't work. After some lecturer help, I realised that the animations were going by too fast for me to see, so I slowed them down. After a few seconds, the spider walks then attacks. It continues a walking/attacking cycle until I stop playing it. The spider stays in one spot throughout this sequence as I didn't assign any proper movement to it. However, I'd love to look into this in the future - I'd love to make the spider walk around the image tracker.


This AR experiment in prototyping could be considered either high or low fidelity. It is interactive and can be used to gauge an experience. However, any project I imagine using this as a prototype would have the desired outcome more complex. 'High Fidelity' prototypes are typically prototypes close to the end result. It depends on the project in determining the value of this experiment. The image moves based on tracking input and features a complex model. Although the model is attractive to look at, it doesn't provide engagement past being visual. Better prototypes might include visual cues to indicate functions being used. This would give feedback to the user, so they know they're interacting with the AR spider. Sound is also crucial for good interaction design. Audio cues can be used in place of visual cues. Music can also be used to set a tone with the spider. Is the spider your pet or out to get you?


Reference

Ibragimova, E. (2016, December 28). High-fidelity prototyping: What, when, why and how? Medium. https://blog.prototypr.io/high-fidelity-prototyping-what-when-why-and-how-f5bbde6a7fd4

6 views0 comments
bottom of page